25 Cong turncoats get tickets as BJP releases candidates’ list: MP bypolls

The Bharatiya Janata Party has named 25 Congress turncoats as its candidates for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly by-elections. Representational image.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has given tickets to 25 Congress turncoats for the Madhya Pradesh Assembly by-elections. The party has released a list of 28 candidates for the upcoming by-elections, accommodating 25 former Congress MLAs.

As many as 14 of them are ministers in the Chouhan’s government and desperately need to win.

It was long anticipated that the BJP would reward those who left the Congress in March this year along with Jyotiraditya Scindia to help Shivraj Singh Chouhan come to power, with tickets for the bypolls. And, the list had very little surprises in store.

BJP quells rebellion

Speculations were ripe in certain corners that some of the new entrants be dropped from the list, amid rising dissent in the BJP camp. Eventually the ruling party seems to have quelled the rebellion successfully.

As many as 22 Congress MLAs had resigned and left the Congress with Scindia in March. That led to the fall of the Kamal Nath-government in the state and helped Chouhan become the BJP chief minister.

Three others — Pradyumn Singh Lodhi, Sumitra Devi Kasdekar and Narayan Patel — had resigned from the party later. The BJP has now named them as its candidates for the upcoming bypolls.

However the former Congress leaders had already started campaigning in their respective constituencies.

Congress names 27 candidates

Meanwhile, the Congress has named 27 candidates in three lists. However the party refrained from announcing nominee for Biaora constituency, fell vacant after the demise of party MLA Govardhan Dangi.

With both the BJP and the Congress well behind the majority mark in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly, the bypolls hold key for the survival of Chouhan’s government, while the Congress fights a face-saver battle.

The Election Commission declared the date of bypolls for November 3 and the results would be declared on November 10.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

19 − 11 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.