Informative, Innovative and Interactive Site of MP & Chhattisgarh
Un Site Informatif, Innovatif et Interactif de MP & Chhattisgarh

“It is not right in God’s sight to obey men rather than God.”

Chhattisgarh News
Chhattisgarh implements season-based crop insurance scheme

RAIPUR: Chhattisgarh government has implemented season-based crop insurance scheme. The scheme will be applicable on paddy, maize, soyabean, groundnut, arhar, moong and udad crops in all districts of the state.

Chief Minister Dr Raman Singh on Wednesday instructed agriculture department and all other agencies to ensure implementation of this scheme seriously. The implementation of this scheme would be done through crop insurance companies authorised by the central government.

According to an official press statement issued here on Wednesday, under the scheme, agriculture department would pay premium grant from the provisioned amount for the financial year 2014-15. The scheme has been brought into force according to the administrative instructions and operational guidelines issued by the Union Ministry of Agriculture, Department of Agriculture and Cooperatives time to time.

Agriculture Minister Brijmohan Agrawal said that the Agriculture Department on June 30 last had issued notification for the implementation of the insurance scheme. He has appealed to the farmers to come forward and take benefits of the scheme.

As per the notification, in accordance to the provisions of the guidelines of the scheme, crop insurance companies have been selected for all districts of the state. The companies concerned would implement the scheme in the districts allocated to them.

Raipur, Balodabazar-Bhattapara, Gariyaband, Mahasamund, Kabirdham and Sarguja districts have been allotted to ICIC Lombard General Insurance Company Limited; Durg, Balod, Mungeli, Janjgir-Champa and North Bastar (Kanker) districts to Agriculture Insurance Company of India Limited and Dhamtari, Bemetara, Rajnandgaon, Bilaspur, Korba, Raigarh and Korea districts to Bajaj Alliance General Insurance Company Limited.

Similarly, Jashpur,  Surajpur, South Bastar (Dantewada) and Sukma districts have been allocated to Cholamandalam MS General Insurance Company Limited; Balrampur, Ramanujganj, Jagadalpur and Narayanpur to Universal Sompo General Insurance Company Limited; Kondagaon district to Future General Insurance Company Limited and Bijapur district to HDFC Ergo General Insurance Company Limited.

The scheme will be compulsory for notified crop and loanee farmers of notified area and optional for non-loanee farmers. The state-level technical committee, constituted under Director Agriculture, has decided the crop-wise and district-wise total insurance amount, premium rate and premium amount, after study of crops received from crop insurance companies and the figures of average rainfall provided by the Meteorological Science Centre.

As per the guidelines of the scheme, 50 per cent of the premium amount will be paid by the farmer and of the remaining 50 per cent, the central government will pay 25 per cent and the state government 25 per cent. It will be compulsory for the insurance company to implement the season based crop insurance scheme in all the areas of the districts allocated to it. If the company will not implement the scheme in any of the allocated district, it will be blacklisted.

It has been made clear in the notification that the farmer who cultivates in Regha and Adhiya land would also get benefits of the scheme.  Dates for insurance marketing work and implementation of crop insurance scheme for both loanee and non-loanee farmers have been decided.  The period of insurance for the loanee farmers will be from April 1 to July 15, 2014. The last date for receiving insurance proposal from non-loanee farmers will be July 15, 2014. Insurance claim will be paid within 45 days.